Gene Therapy Working Group

The Gene Therapy Working Group is a permanent working group of the SECB. It supports the SECB in its advisory tasks concerning the authorization of clinical trials of gene therapy or with genetically modified organisms (GMOs) as well as market authorizations of such products.

Members of the Gene Therapy Working Group (external experts)


  • Pedro Romero, Prof. em. MD, University Hospital Center (CHUV), Lausanne; Director of Medical & Scientific Affairs Novigenix SA, Epalinges


  • Pascal Meylan, Prof. em. MD, University Hospital Center (CHUV), Lausanne


  • Fabio Candotti, Prof. MD, Service d’immunologie et allergie, CHUV Lausanne
  • Angela Ciuffi, Prof. PhD, Lausanne University Hospital Center and University of Lausanne (CHUV-UNIL) 
  • Bence György, Assistant Professor, MD, PhD, Institute of Molecular and Clinical Ophthalmology Basel (IOB)
  • Ben Hale, Prof. PhD, Institut für Medizinische Virologie, Universität Zürich 
  • Steve Pascolo, Prof. Dr., Departement für Dermatologie, Universität Zürich
  • Patrick Roth, Prof. MD, Universitätsspital Zürich
  • Sandro Rusconi, Prof. em. Dr. phil. nat., Repubblica e Cantone Ticino, Divisione della Cultura e degli Studi Universitari, Bellinzona
  • Bernard Schneider, MER, PhD, Plateforme technologique Bertarelli de thérapie génique, EPFL
  • Silke Stertz, Prof. Dr., Institut für Medizinische Virologie, Universität Zürich

Executive Office

  • Elisabetta Peduzzi, PhD, Executive Manager SECB, Bern

To the top

Last edition: 01.02.2024